Book Review: Daggerspell

Title: Daggerspell Author: Katherine Kurr Series: Book 1 Genre: Adult Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: Spectra Page Count: 600 Type of Book: Paperback Who Recommended it: My mother Received: bought secondhand Review Word Count: 500 Rated: 4/5 stars Notes: It didn’t end on a cliffhanger! Daggerspell was an interesting fantasy novel. I loved the start of it;Continue reading “Book Review: Daggerspell”

Book Review: Virgin River

Title: Virgin River Author: Robyn Carr Series: Book 1 Genre: Romance, Adult Fiction Publisher: Page Count: 500 Status: Completed Type of Book: Kindle Ebook Received: Library Loan Rated: 3.5 out of 5 stars Notes: Trigger warnings for detailed pregnancies, abandoned babies, army men returned from war, brief mention of spousal abuse, teens making poor choices,Continue reading “Book Review: Virgin River”

Book Review: Mystic and Rider

Title: Mystic and Rider Author: Sharon Shinn Series: Book 1 of 5 Genre: Adult Fantasy Publisher: Ace Page Count: 500 Status: DNF’d at 45% Type of Book: Mass Market Paperback, Owned Received: I honestly don’t remember where I got this, I got it *years* ago Rated: 2/5 stars Notes: Recommended for people bored and desperateContinue reading “Book Review: Mystic and Rider”

Book Review: Through Lya’s Eyes

Title: Through Lya’s Eyes Author: Carbone/Cunha Justine Series: Book 1 Genre: Mystery/Thriller Publisher: Europe Comics Page Count: Type of Book: Comic Book/Graphic Novel Received: Netgalley Rated: 2/5 stars Review Word Count: 100 Notes: This might possibly be my shortest review to date! This was a strange read for me, and wound up being a DNF.Continue reading “Book Review: Through Lya’s Eyes”

Book Review: Little Witches

Title: Little Witches Author: Leigh Dragoon Series: Book One Genre: Historical/Fantasy, YA Publisher: Oni Press Page Count: 115 (?) Type of Book: Comic/Graphic Novel Received: Netgalley Rated: 4/5 stars Notes: A new category for my blog! I’ve started diving into Comics and Graphic Novels, so I figured to add the new button! Little Witches tookContinue reading “Book Review: Little Witches”

Hardback Book Review: Song in the Silence

Title: Song in the Silence Author: Elizabeth Kerner Series: Book 1 Genre: Fantasy, Adult Fiction Publisher: Tom Doherty Page Count: 400 Type of Book: Hardback Received: Library Loan Review Word Count: 500 Rated: 5/5 stars Notes: Short review, long book. Epic fantasy at it’s finest. Fans of Mercedes Lackey, Anne McCaffrey, Andre Norton, and RobertContinue reading “Hardback Book Review: Song in the Silence”

New Release Review: Once and Future

Title: Once and Future Author: Amy Rose Capetta + Cori McCarthy Series: Book 1 Genre: Fantasy, Science Fiction Publisher: Hatchett Page Count: 400 Type of Book: Hardback, New Release Received: Library Rated: 5/5 stars Review Word Count: 500 Notes: Read for the “Ancient Runes” category of my O.W.L. Exams/Read-a-Thon, for in Ancient Runes you wereContinue reading “New Release Review: Once and Future”

Netgalley Review: Murder at Morrington Hall (Book 1 of a delightful new series!)

Title: Murder at Morrington Hall Author: Clara McKenna Series: Book 1 Genre: Mystery, Historical Publisher: Kensington Books Page Count: 300 Type of Book: Arc, Kindle Ebook Received: Netgalley Rated: 5/5 stars Review Word Count: 1,000 Notes: My, that was a lovely read! This was utterly delightful, and exactly the kind of book I’d been hopingContinue reading “Netgalley Review: Murder at Morrington Hall (Book 1 of a delightful new series!)”

Netgalley Review: Penne Dreadful

Title: Penne Dreadful Author: Catherine Burns Series: Book 1 of the Italian Chef Mystery Series Genre: Mystery, Thriller Page Count: 500 Publisher: Sourcebooks Type of Book: Netgalley Read, Kindle Ebook Received: Netgalley Rated: 5/5 stars Review Word Count: Notes: A wonderful start to a new mystery series that will surely leave readers hungry for more!Continue reading “Netgalley Review: Penne Dreadful”

Netgalley Review: A Spell for Murder

Title: A Spell for Murder Author: Clea Simmon Series: book 1 Genre: Mystery (Cozy) Publisher: Polis Books Page Count: 400 Type of Book: Netgalley ARC, Kindle Ebook Received: Netgalley Rated: 5/5 stars This is a cozy mystery book that’s seemingly told from the cats point of view. Need I say more? Well, apparently I mustContinue reading “Netgalley Review: A Spell for Murder”

Yorkshire Book Lover

Passionate about reviewing brilliant books!

Menlo Park Art

Mrs. Nordensvan's Art Class Website

Upside-Down Books

a world of tea drinkers and dragon riders

R.J. Logar

books, projects, dreams

Emma R.

Books, Writing and Life!

Information World

information makes you aware and smart.

BookmarkedOne

Books, Writing, Violins, and Voice Acting

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

AvalinahsBooks

Book blog and book love

Sandy's Book a Day Blog

A book a day is bliss😍

Broadbean's Books

Welcome to my blog where I share my thoughts on books.

Historical Fiction Addicts

All Things Historical Fiction...Plus +

Hamlets & Hyperspace

Sci Fi & Fantasy Book Reviews

The Last Reader

“I read so I can live more than one life in more than one place.” – Anne Tyler

WP Tavern

WordPress News — Free as in Beer.