Fantasy Book Reviews

Book Review: Daggerspell

Title: Daggerspell Author: Katherine Kurr Series: Book 1 Genre: Adult Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: Spectra Page Count: 600 Type of Book: Paperback Who Recommended it: My mother Received: bought secondhand Review Word Count: 500 Rated: 4/5 stars Notes: It didn’t end on a cliffhanger! Daggerspell was an interesting fantasy novel. I loved the start of it;… Continue reading Book Review: Daggerspell

Historical Fiction Book Reviews · Mystery/Thriller Book Reviews

Book Review: Grave Expectations

Title: Grave Expectations Author: Heather Redmond Series: Book 2 Genre: Adult Fiction, Mystery Publisher: Kensington Books Page Count: 400 Type of Book: Arc, Kindle Ebook Received: Publisher, Netgalley Review Word Count: 500 Rated: 5/5 stars Notes: I haven’t read book one, but it seems you don’t need to in order to read book two, thankfully.… Continue reading Book Review: Grave Expectations

Historical Fiction Book Reviews · LGBT Book Reviews · Mystery/Thriller Book Reviews · Romance

Book Review: The Woman in the Veil

Title: The Woman in the Veil Author: Laura Joh Rowland Series: Book 4 Genre: Adult Fiction, Mystery, Historical Publisher: Crooked Lane Books Page Count: 400 Type of Book: Arc, Kindle Ebook Received: Publisher, Netgalley Review Word Count: Rated: 4/5 stars Notes: I haven’t read any of the first three books, but will likely rectify that… Continue reading Book Review: The Woman in the Veil

LGBT Book Reviews · Mystery/Thriller Book Reviews · Romance

Book Review: Hitting Black Ice

Title: Hitting Black Ice Author: Heloise West Series: Book 1 Genre: Adult Fiction, Romance, LGBT Page Count: 200 Publisher: NineStar Press Type of Book: Arc, Kindle Ebook Received: Netgalley, Publisher Review Word Count: 500 Rated: 4/5 stars Notes: High action, lots of romance, and plenty of thrills. This is one of those rare Netgalley arcs… Continue reading Book Review: Hitting Black Ice

Mystery/Thriller Book Reviews

Book Review: Tracking Game

Title: Tracking Game Author: Margaret Mizushima Series: Book 5 Genre: Adult Fiction, Mystery Publisher: Crooked Lane Books Page Count: ? Type of Book: Kindle Ebook, Arc Received: Publisher, Netgalley Review Word Count: 500 Rated: 4/5 stars Notes: I haven’t ready any of the rest of the series, nor have I read anything else from this… Continue reading Book Review: Tracking Game

Historical Fiction Book Reviews · Romance

Book Review: The Duke I Tempted

Title: The Duke I Tempted Author: Scarlett Peckham Series: Book 1 Genre: Adult Fiction, Historical Romance Page Count: 400 Publisher: NYLA Type of Book: Kindle Ebook, Library Loan Received: Ebook Library Review Word Count: 500 Rated: 5/5 stars Notes: Prepare to grab a box of tissues when reading this book. My poor heart. The writer… Continue reading Book Review: The Duke I Tempted

Fantasy Book Reviews

Book Review: The Harp of Kings

Title: The Harp of Kings Author: Juliet Marillier Series: Book 1 Genre: Fantasy, Adult Fiction Publisher: DAW Page Count: 500 Type of Book: Arc, Kindle Ebook Received: Publisher Review Word Count: 500 Rated: 3/5 stars Notes: Not my favorite Juliet Marillier, but not bad either. This is one of my favorite authors, so when I… Continue reading Book Review: The Harp of Kings

Science Fiction Book Reviews

Arc Review: Salvation Day

Title: Salvation Day Author: Kali Wallace Series: ? Genre: Science Fiction, Adult Fiction Page Count: 300 Publisher: Berkeley Type of Book: Arc, Physical Hardback Received: Publisher Review Word Count: Rated: 5/5 Notes: Highly recommended for fans of The Expanse, Illuminae, and Binti. This was an awesome, adventurous ride from the very beginning, building into a… Continue reading Arc Review: Salvation Day

Fantasy Book Reviews

Arc Review: The Girl in Red

Title: The Girl in Red Author: Christina Henry Series: Standalone? Genre: Adult Fiction, Fantasy Page Count: 300 Publisher: Berkeley Type of Book: Arc, Physical Copy, Paperback Received: Publisher Review Word Count: 500 Rated: 4/5 Notes: Delightful! I’ve been meaning to try Christina Henry for a while, since I first heard of her through CodiesBookCorner on… Continue reading Arc Review: The Girl in Red