Book Review: The Colonists Wife

Hello friends, The Colonist’s Wife by Kylie Scott is a science fiction romance. There’s miners, danger, explosions, and even horticulture within this book. There’s plenty of things to go around, in terms of enjoying a good science fiction romp towards an alien planet named Esther (I believe), and in colonization. Mail order brides set in … Continue reading Book Review: The Colonists Wife

Arc Review: Salvation Day

Title: Salvation Day Author: Kali Wallace Series: ? Genre: Science Fiction, Adult Fiction Page Count: 300 Publisher: Berkeley Type of Book: Arc, Physical Hardback Received: Publisher Review Word Count: Rated: 5/5 Notes: Highly recommended for fans of The Expanse, Illuminae, and Binti. This was an awesome, adventurous ride from the very beginning, building into a … Continue reading Arc Review: Salvation Day

Anthology Review: The Eagle Has Landed

Title: The Eagle Has Landed Author: Anthology/Neil Clarke Series: Standalone Genre: Science Fiction Publisher: Skyhorse Page Count: 600 Type of Book: Kindle Ebook, Arc Received: Netgalley Review Word Count: 1000 Rated: 4/5 stars Notes: Definite recommendation for SciFi nerds! This was a fascinating anthology about the moon landings, or people living on the moon and … Continue reading Anthology Review: The Eagle Has Landed

Paperback Book Review: Stardoc

Title: Stardoc Author: S. L. Viehl Series: Book 1 Genre: Science Fiction, Adult Fiction Publisher: Roc Fantasy Page Count: 400 Type of Book: Paperback Received: Library Loan Review Word Count: 500 Rated: 5/5 stars Notes: Trigger warnings for rape between alien/human species, harsh language, various illnesses, illegal cloning, and light suggested emotional abuse towards a … Continue reading Paperback Book Review: Stardoc

New Release Review: Arabella and the Traitor of Mars

Title: Arabella and the Traitor of Mars Author: David Levine Series: Book 3 Genre: Science Fiction, Adult Fiction Publisher: Tom Doherty/Tor Page Count: 400 Type of Book: Hardback, New Release Received: Library Loan Rated: 5/5 stars Review Word Count: 500 Notes: Read for the OWLs prompt “Transfiguration-Sprayed Edges or Red Cover” and since I don’t … Continue reading New Release Review: Arabella and the Traitor of Mars

New Release Review: Once and Future

Title: Once and Future Author: Amy Rose Capetta + Cori McCarthy Series: Book 1 Genre: Fantasy, Science Fiction Publisher: Hatchett Page Count: 400 Type of Book: Hardback, New Release Received: Library Rated: 5/5 stars Review Word Count: 500 Notes: Read for the “Ancient Runes” category of my O.W.L. Exams/Read-a-Thon, for in Ancient Runes you were … Continue reading New Release Review: Once and Future

Netgalley Review: Conviction

Title: Conviction Author: M. D. Neu Series: Book Two Genre: Science Fiction, Romance, LGBT, Futuristic Page Count: ? Publisher: Nine Star Press Release Date: March 15th Type of Book: Ebook, Kindle Book, ARC Review Word Count: 1000 Received: Netgalley Rated: 5/5 stars Notes: This series continues to delight. It went a different area than what … Continue reading Netgalley Review: Conviction

New Release Review: The Black God’s Drums

Title: The Black God’s Drums Author: P. Djeli Clark Genre: Science Fiction, Adult Series: Hopefully a Book 1 Publisher: Tor.com Page Count: 108 Type of Book: New Release, Paperback Received: Library Review Word Count: 500 Rated: 5/5 stars Notes: So short, but oh so good! (Also that mention of Fillory at the acknowledgments at the … Continue reading New Release Review: The Black God’s Drums

New Release Review: Arabella and the Battle of Venus

Title: Arabella and the Battle of Venus Author: David Levine Series: Book Two Genre: Science Fiction, Adult Fiction Publisher: Tor Books Page Count: 415 Type of Book: Hardback, New Release Received: Library Review Word Count: 600 Rated: 4/5 stars Notes: Ah, Arabella continues to delight! This was a perfect read to read after the heartbreaking … Continue reading New Release Review: Arabella and the Battle of Venus

Netgalley Review: Contact by M.D. Neu

Title: Contact Author: M.D. Neu Series: Book 1 Genre: Science Fiction Page Count: 300 Publisher: Ninestar Press Type of Book: Arc, Kindle Ebook Review Word Count: 500 Rated: 4/5 stars Received: Netgalley Notes: Death of an lgbt character, but makes sense for the plot. Harsh swearing from two different characters, and a bomb attack about … Continue reading Netgalley Review: Contact by M.D. Neu