Fantasy Book Reviews

Arc Review: Choices by Mercedes Lackey

Title: Choices Author: Mercedes Lackey Series: Tales of Valdemar/Anthology Genre: Fantasy Publisher: DAW Page Count: 400 Received: publisher Rated: 4/5 stars Type of Book: Paperback Notes: a collection of short stories, one of them being from Mercedes Lackey herself, tells various tales of various characters in the lands of Valdemar. This was an interesting anthology.… Continue reading Arc Review: Choices by Mercedes Lackey

Fantasy Book Reviews · fiction · The TBR Pile

Waiting on Wednesday: My Dreadful TBR

Hello friends. I haven't read a single book all week. Mostly because I have no idea what to read, but also because: Rain-we are in the middle of building an addition to the house and all this rain is not helping. Book slump is worst slump ever. Lazy. All I've been doing is sleeping, and… Continue reading Waiting on Wednesday: My Dreadful TBR

Fantasy Book Reviews

Book Review: Mystic and Rider

Title: Mystic and Rider Author: Sharon Shinn Series: Book 1 of 5 Genre: Adult Fantasy Publisher: Ace Page Count: 500 Status: DNF’d at 45% Type of Book: Mass Market Paperback, Owned Received: I honestly don’t remember where I got this, I got it *years* ago Rated: 2/5 stars Notes: Recommended for people bored and desperate… Continue reading Book Review: Mystic and Rider

Fantasy Book Reviews

Book Review: Unpopular Opinion

Title: We Hunt the Flame Author: Hafsah Faizal Series: Book One Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Farrar, Straus, and Giroux Page Count: 500 Status: DNF’d at 35/40% Type of Book: Hardback, New Release Received: Library Rated: 2.5 stars rounded up to 3/5 stars Notes: Unpopular Opinion-this book was not meant for one such as me. I really… Continue reading Book Review: Unpopular Opinion

Fantasy Book Reviews

Book Review: Small Spaces

Title: Small Spaces Author: Katherine Arden Series: Stand Alone Genre: Middle Grade, Fantasy Publisher: Page Count: 200 Type of Book: Hardback Received: Library Loan Rated: 4/5 stars Notes: Warning for some bullying throughout the book, theft of a book, and the main characters mother has died and she’s dealing with it. Small Spaces was a… Continue reading Book Review: Small Spaces

Fantasy Book Reviews

Hardback Book Review: Song in the Silence

Title: Song in the Silence Author: Elizabeth Kerner Series: Book 1 Genre: Fantasy, Adult Fiction Publisher: Tom Doherty Page Count: 400 Type of Book: Hardback Received: Library Loan Review Word Count: 500 Rated: 5/5 stars Notes: Short review, long book. Epic fantasy at it’s finest. Fans of Mercedes Lackey, Anne McCaffrey, Andre Norton, and Robert… Continue reading Hardback Book Review: Song in the Silence

Fantasy Book Reviews · Historical Fiction Book Reviews · LGBT Book Reviews · Romance · Science Fiction Book Reviews

New Release Review: Once and Future

Title: Once and Future Author: Amy Rose Capetta + Cori McCarthy Series: Book 1 Genre: Fantasy, Science Fiction Publisher: Hatchett Page Count: 400 Type of Book: Hardback, New Release Received: Library Rated: 5/5 stars Review Word Count: 500 Notes: Read for the “Ancient Runes” category of my O.W.L. Exams/Read-a-Thon, for in Ancient Runes you were… Continue reading New Release Review: Once and Future

Fantasy Book Reviews

1st Promo Post: The Beast’s Heart

Greetings all, Today dawns snow and ice on the ground and the beginning of changes here on my blog. I mentioned in my January stats post that I wanted to do more than just book reviews this year. I wanted to do promo posts for books I love, author interviews, guest bloggers. This is all… Continue reading 1st Promo Post: The Beast’s Heart

Fantasy Book Reviews · Young Adult Book Reviews

New Release Review: All the Wandering Light

Title: All the Wandering Light Author: Heather Fawcett Series: Book 2 Genre: Fantasy, YA Publisher: Harper Collins Page Count: 430 Type of Book: Hardback, New Release Received: Library Review Word Count: 500 Rated: 4.5/5 stars Notes: Another sequel finished. Alas, book three is not out so now I have to wait. *cries* River. Kazmin. Ragtooth.… Continue reading New Release Review: All the Wandering Light